User Tools

Site Tools


admin_functionality:settings:postmergesettings

Post Merge Settings (Dynamics ONLY)

  • When duplicate records are merged, their related entity records are re-linked to the surviving master; this can cause duplicates to be introduced
  • Our optional “Post-Merge” Module avoids this challenge, optionally de-activating or deleting identical duplicate records, so you can rest assured that your data is trustworthy and fit for use:
    • Be confident in your data integrity, as all linked data will be duplicate free after merging
    • Save time by avoiding manually deduping related entity records
    • Achieve higher levels of trust in the related data linked to your Golden Record

NOTE: Please see Custom Settings for information on how to activate the relevant entities for de-duplication.


How to access this feature

To access this feature please select the 'Post Merge Settings' option in the settings tab.


How to use this feature

Before selecting the related entities dedupe, please go to Custom Settings to configure the related entities you would like to display on this screen. Loading all related entities will reduce performance. Please only select the Account/Contact/Lead related entities utlised in the Post Merge Dedupe process.

Select Entity: Select the one of the following entity to apply the settings for:

  • Account
  • Contact
  • Lead

Related Entities: All the entities displayed to you which are having 1:N relationship with the base entity selected.

  • Toggle List: You will be able to view (i.e. toggle) the list of entities either by ‘Display Name’ or ‘Schema Name’.
  • Sort List: You will also able to sort the listing by ASC or DESC order, by right clicking the column header.
  • Search Entities: You will able to search the entities from the list using keyword search feature, by click the search icon.

Add Post Merge Settings: To add the settings for the related entity, you will need to drag-and-drop the related entity from the left hand side onto the ‘Post Merge Configuration’ grid on the right hand side.


Post Duplicate Detection

You have 3 actions to choose from:

  • None: If selected, there is no duplicate detection process for the selected related entity and all the related entity records shall move to Master records as per default CRM behaviour. Please note, you won’t able to set the ‘Attributes configuration for Duplicate Detection’ and ‘Additional Settings’ if the ‘None’ option is selected.
  • Deactivate: If selected, the related entity records which are found as duplicates shall be deactivated post base entity records merging.
  • Delete: If selected, the related entity records which are found as duplicates shall be deleted post base entity records merging.

Attributes configuration for Duplicate Detection: Select the attributes (by dragging and dropping from the left to the right hand side) for duplicate records detection. If the selected attributes values are found to be the same, then the records shall be declared as duplicates.

Additional Settings: You can apply the following additional settings to pre-process the data before duplicate detection:

  • Ignore Special Characters
  • Ignore Spaces
  • Ignore Numbers
  • Ignore Characters


Primary Record Detection

Primary Record Detection Attribute: Select the attribute from the list which will help to detect the Primary Record. You can select the ‘None’ option if you don’t want to apply ‘Primary Record Detection Settings’.

Primary Record Defining Attribute: This is an optional feature. You can select the attribute (of type ‘Option Set’) from this list if you want Primary Records per option. E.g. If you select the ‘Communication Type’ attribute for the related entity ‘Phone’, you will receive the primary record for each communication type against the Master record.

Best Primary Record Detection Rules: You can set the rules in sequential manner for detection of primary record(s).

  • Master: If selected, the primary record(s) from the Master will be the winner.
  • Modified On (Newest/Oldest): If selected, the Newest/Oldest modified record will be declared as winner.
  • Created On (Newest/Oldest): If selected, the Newest/Oldest created record will be declared as winner.

Edit Existing Settings

There are two ways to select an 'Edit Existing Setting':

  • Double click the desired setting
  • Right click the desired setting and then select 'Edit'
admin_functionality/settings/postmergesettings.txt · Last modified: 2021/07/06 09:23 by conor.doyle